The National Anti-Poverty Commission-Secretariat expressed support to the 55th Founding Anniversary of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) through the presence of NAPC Officer-in-Charge/Undersecretary Paterna M. Ruiz and Ms. Catherine Manangan, Senior Technical Officer, during the Commemorative event hosted by the Department of Foreign Affairs on August 10, 2022 at the Bulwagang Apolinario Mabini, DFA, Pasay City.


DFA Secretary Enrique Manalo and DFA Undersecretary for Bilateral Relations and ASEAN Affairs Ma. Theresa P. Lazaro led the event and delivered congratulatory messages to all fellow ASEAN member countries, respectively. Also, ASEAN Ambassadors to the Philippines joined the celebration.

This year’s anniversary theme, “Stronger Together”, is in line with NAPC’s mission to convene the 14 basic sectors, national agencies and local government units in order to provide responsive policy reforms and programs to the impoverished and marginalized Filipinos.


Furthermore, Cambodia’s ASEAN Chairmanship 2022 marked the celebration with the theme , “Addressing Challenges Together” as  a call for unity among ASEAN members and dignitaries and urging for their collective strength as the region still recuperates from the impact and crippling effects of the  COVID-19 pandemic.


Currently, Undersecretary Ruiz serves as the Chairperson and Philippine Focal for the ASEAN Senior Officials on Rural Development and Poverty Eradication (SOMRDPE).


Prior to this event, the agency has been actively supporting other ASEAN-related initiatives. Last April 29, NAPC headed the 5th ASEAN Rural Development and Poverty Eradication Leadership Awards, a regular biennial SOMRDPE event aimed to recognize the roles, outstanding achievements, and contributions of non-government organizations, civil society organizations, and the private sector in the Philippines to the rural development and poverty reduction of local communities.


The Philippines was among the Founding Fathers of ASEAN together with Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand that signed the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) on August 8, 1987.


# # #